EMIL's management team EMIL's management team

At the helm


Board of Directors

Mr. Tuhin Kumar Mukherjee, Managing Director

Mr. Tuhin Kumar Mukherjee is Managing Director of Essel Mining & Industries Limited and Sector Head, Mineral Resources Development, Aditya Birla Group. As Business Head, Mr. Mukherjee provides strategic and operational leadership to the mineral resources development and mining business of Aditya Birla Group, both in domestic and overseas arena.

Prior to joining Aditya Birla Group, Mr. Mukherjee was Executive Director, JSW Steel Limited. He steered JSW Groups’ diversification in the fields of natural resources sector for ensuring raw material security by way of establishing backward vertical integration with its steel, energy, cement and aluminum businesses.

Mr. Mukherjee was also Managing Director of Barmer Lignite Mining Company Limited (BLMCL), Jaipur, a joint venture company of Rajasthan State Mines & Minerals Limited and Raj West Power Private Limited. He was also Chairman, Rohne Coal Company Private Limited (RCCPL), Delhi, a joint venture company of JSW Steel Limited, Bhusan Power & Steel Limited and Jai Balaji Industries Limited. He was also on the Board of several natural resources companies in India as well as overseas.

A member of the National Executive Committee of Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI), Mr. Mukherjee is also Chairman of FICCI National Mining Committee and member of the National Mining Committee of Confederation of Indian Industry (CII).

Born in 1952, Mr. Mukherjee is an alumni of the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, where he obtained both graduation and post graduation degrees in integrated earth science/applied geology in 1973, and later diploma in business administration from the IGNOU, New Delhi, and diploma in aerial photo-interpretation and photo-geology at IPI (now IIRS), Dehradun. Mr. Mukherjee also has orientation in management development at Ashridge Management College, Berkhamsted, United Kingdom and in remote sensing at ITC, Enschede, the Netherlands. He has over 40 technical and managerial publications in international and national journals and seminars.

Mr. Mukherjee started his professional career with Coal Mines Authority Limited (CMAL), a Government of India company, as a geologist in January 1974 and then at Coal India Limited (CIL), a reconstituted Government of India company for coal sector in India, in October 1975 till January 2006. During his long professional career, he worked in CMAL/CIL’s exploration businesses, including senior appointments.

Mr. Mukherjee has nearly three-and-half decades professional experience in the mineral and mining and associated infrastructure sector in the fields of project execution, project conceptualisation, planning, management and monitoring, corporate strategic planning and business development, cross boundary negotiations, international tie-ups and co-operation. His professional experience spans in geographies viz., India, Tanzania, Indonesia, Chile, USA, UK, South Africa, Australia, Mozambique, Canada, Botswana, Namibia, Brazil, etc. He is the recipient of Colombo Plan Fellowship by the Government of UK.

  • Mr. Ashwin Kumar Kothari
  • Mr. Sunil Kumar Daga
  • Mr. Manish Kumar Newar
  • Mr. Nagendra Chandra Shah
  • Mr. Giriraj Maheswari
  • Ms. Anita Ramachandran
  • Mr. Sushil Agarwal

Chairperson Of Audit Committee

  • Mr. Sunil Kumar Daga

Company Secretary

  • Mr. Dhananjoy Karmakar


  • Mr. R. P. PansariSenior President
  • Mr. Vinod Chaturvedi Chief Human Resources Officer Read more
  • Mr. Arun GargChief Financial OfficerRead more
  • Mr. Sourav DasChief Digital & Information Officer
  • Mr. Anju DesaiCentral Legal Cell

Strategy, Business Development & Sustainability

  • Mr.Pavan Kakani Head Strategy, BD & Sustainability

Iron Ore Mining Division

Unit – Barbil Group Of Iron Ore Mines

  • Mr. Prasanna PandaSr. President & Unit Head
  • Mr. Rajeev SaxenaHead – Logistics
  • Mr. Pavan KakaniHead Marketing (Domestic & Export)
  • Mr. Vivek BankaHead – F&C

MDO Coal Mining Division

  • Mr. Rajinder MalhotraHead - Coal Business
  • Mr. Subrat Mohapatra Head HR – Iron Ore & Coal,
    Admin – Bhubaneswar Office
  • Mr. Upendra Kumar Advisor

Unit – Bhubaneshwari Coal Mining Ltd.

  • Mr. Mukesh Kumar Chief Operating Officer
  • Mr. Siva Prasad SahuHead – F&C
  • Mr. Bairagi SahuHead – Operations

Unit – Rajmahal Coal Mining Ltd.

  • Mr. Sanjay TiwaryChief Operating Officer
  • Mr. Sourav ChhawchhariaHead – F&C
  • Mr. Ashok SinhaHead - Operation

Unit – Madanpur Coal Project

  • Mr. Manoj ShahiHead – Madanpur Project

Commercial Coal Mining Division

  • Mr. Satya PrakashHead Commercial Coal Mining Division

Unit – Bandha Project

  • Mr. Kanshajit Bhaumick Head – Project Bandha ( interim )

Unit - Radhikapur East Coal Project

  • Mr. Shiva Shankar Mahto Head – Radhikapur East Coal Project

Noble Ferro Alloys Division

  • Mr. Vinod ChaturvediHead – Noble Ferro Alloys Business
  • Mrs. Sangita SadafuleUnit Head – Noble Ferro Alloys
  • Mrs. Maitri DesaiHead – F&C
  • Mr. Barun SarkarHead - Operations

Wind Power

  • Mr. Arun Garg Head – Wind Power Business

Pro Minerals Private Limited

  • Mr. Prasanna Kumar Panda Unit Head & Sr. President
  • Mr. Ravindra K Sahu Plant Head – PMPL

Bunder Diamond Project

  • Mr. Rakesh Paliwal Head – Bunder Diamond Project
  • Mr. Dhananjoy Karmakar Company Secretary – Contact person for queries or grievances